CAR ACCIDENT? NEW FLORIDA LAW 2013

by Dr. Karen Cann on May 27, 2012

 

CAR ACCIDENT? NEW FLORIDA LAW 2013

The personal injury protection (PIP) law was adopted in 1972 to make sure anyone injured in an auto accident would quickly get money to treat their injuries.
The legislation provided that a driver’s insurance company pay up to $10,000 to
cover medical bills and lost wages after an accident, no matter who is at
fault.
Recently the legislature under the urging of Rick Scott and the insurance
industry pushed for changes to the PIP law. Florida has passed the
PIP reform bill. What does this mean for you and me?

 

 

If you are insured in the state of Florida, your
personal injury protection (PIP) may no longer cover you for a maximum of  $10,000.00 come January 1, 2013. However, you
will still pay the premium to have the coverage. After an accident, unless you
report to a specialist within 14 days, you will forfeit your right for medical
treatment!

 

 

A specialist is defined as: a general practitioner physician,
osteopathic physician, dentist, supervised physician’s assistant or advanced
registered nurse practitioner. These professionals need to determine if the
insured has an “emergency medical condition (EMC)”.

 

“Emergency medical condition” means a medical condition
manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient severity, which may include
severe pain, such that the absence of immediate medical attention could
reasonably be expected to result in any of the following:
(a) Serious jeopardy to patient health.
(b) Serious impairment to bodily functions.
(c) Serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part.

 

If you
are not diagnosed with a EMC, your PIP medical benefit will be decreased from
$10,000.00 to $2,500. A trip to the emergency room at your local hospital could
easily cost you up to, or more than the $2,500.00 in coverage possibly making
you responsible to pay the remainder.

 

 

Chiropractors are specialists of
the spine and frequently are the first professionals to see those after a car
accident. Physical Therapist also help by providing treatment and exercises to
help patients heal at a faster rate, minimizing further damage to the body.
Chiropractors and Physical therapists can do massage on the patient if needed
but the new law eliminates treatment by massage therapists and also for
acupuncture.

 

 

We can help you! Dr. Cann is both a Licensed Chiropractic
Physician and a Licensed Physical Therapist and has been practicing since 1987
with 25 years of experience.  Call today!   850-916-9304

 

Discover the health within you.™

 

 

 

 

 

 

(850)
916-9304

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: